surya namaskar

What is Surya Yoga?

Surya Yoga or Surya Namaskar or Sun Salutation is one of the most prominent types of yoga for getting the most positive results for the mind, the body and the spirit. As the name suggests, it is a way to express thankfulness to the sun for nurturing life on earth. Though it is known for being a good cardiovascular exercise, it has a lot more benefits. 

Scroll down the article and read it completely to understand the types, poses, and benefits of this yoga. 

The best way to practice this yoga is to do it on an empty stomach. The most suitable time is the early morning. 

surya yoga

Benefits of Surya Yoga:

  • Stimulates the immune system
  • Improves cognitive capacities
  • Improves cardiovascular health
  • Stimulates the nervous system
  • Helps in toning the muscles and making the body flexible
  • Helps lose weight
  • Eases the mind

How to practice Surya Yoga?

There are two sets of this practice. Each set comprises of twelve asanas or poses. Here are the steps to follow to practice Surya yoga:

Step1. Pranamasana

Stand tall with your toes pointing forward. Your feet should be parallel and directly below the hips. Keep your shoulders rolled back and your chest open. Your chin should be parallel to the floor. Look at a point in front of you and breathe normally. Bring your palms together close to your chest. This is the prayer position or salutation position.

Step 2: Hastauttanasana

Stretch your arms slowly on both sides of the body and slightly arch back. Make sure your head remains in-between your hands. Keep your knees joined. This is the hastauttanasana pose.

Step 3: Hastapadasana 

Stretch forward and come down with your hands stretched and back straight. Place your palms on either side of your feet and drop your head down. Keep your knees joined while being in this position. This is Hastapadasana.

Step 4: Ashwa Sanchalanasana

Take the right leg back and place your knee on the mat or the floor as far as possible. Breathe in while doing so. Keep your foot flat. Keep your hip down. Keep your chin up and your chest open.

Step 5: Dandasana

Breathing in, take the other leg back into a straight line. Your whole body should be in a line.

Step 6: Ashtanga Namaskara

Drop your knees down to the floor while breathing in. Let your hips stay up. Bring your chest and chin down. Elbows should remain close to the body and chin should be touching the floor.

Step 7: Bhujangasana

Slide the chest forward through your hands. Lift your chin up. Flatten your feet and bring the heels together.

Step 8: Adho Mukha Svanasana

Tuck your toes. Lift your hips up while you breathe out. Get your body into the inverted ‘V’ pose.

Try to keep your heels on the ground.

Step 9: Ashwa Sanchalanasana

Breathe in and bring your right leg forward. Place both your hands in between your hands.

Lift your chin up while pressing your hips down.

Step 10: Hastapadasana

Exhale and bring the other leg forward. Your palms should be touching the floor and your head should be down.

Step 11: Hastauttanasana 

Inhale and stretch your arms forward. Bend backward into an arch.

Step 12: Tadasana 

Bring down your arms and straighten your body while breathing out. Keep both palms by the side of your body. Relax.

This is how you complete a set of Surya Yoga. To complete the second set, follow the same steps on the left side. 

Practicing Surya Yoga strengthens the body and mind. However, you need to make sure that you are eligible for practicing it. It is advisable to learn and practice yoga under the guidance of a qualified Yoga teacher. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *